The Dialect on Sabatical until January 2010

Asleep at the Wheel by Aaron Jacobs.

The Dialect has been very busy amassing an impressive collection of language dictionaries, instruction books, computer programs, CDs, and miniature comic books. While intently focussed on assembling this arsenal, The Dialect will be on sabatical until January 2010. Until then, dream on these cool new Dialect aquisitions:

“Wotcha Say: An introduction on colloquial Caymanian”

“Cote ce Cote la: Trinidad & Tobago Dictionary”

“The Anatomy of Swearing”

“Pimsluer’s Hebrew 1B” a 9 CD set

“250 Essential Chinese Characters for Everyday Use”

“The Klingon Dictionary”

“How to Read Egyptian Hieroglyphs”

“Pardon My French: Unleash your Inner Gaul”

“Vietnamese: So Easy as A.B.C!”

“Oran’s Dictionary of the Law”

“The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music”

“Dictionary of Linguistics”

…and many more tantalizing tools. Look for these things in the coming months and more regular posting too!

5 Comments

  1. Brad B said,

    September 24, 2009 at 2:38 am

    I’m a big fan of the pimsleur method of learning language. i’ve tried a couple of the tapes. And I actually met an Irish guy in Mexico who had done the Spanish tapes and basically learned to speak Spanish. His vocabulary was very limited, but he could defend himself quite well.

  2. thedialect said,

    September 24, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Yes indeed I think the Pimsleur CDs are fun too. The bummer part is that the library didn’t have “1A” so I had to get the “1B” which doesn’t start with Hello or 1,2,3,4… Its starts with involved sentences. Still fun though. The only Hebrew words I’ve come away with yet are:

    “Ma?” for What?

    “Dolarim” for dollars and

    “shkalim” for Shekels or Sheqels שקלים

    I don’t know how far I’m going to pursue learning Hebrew for now. I’m just getting my feet wet so I can get a feel for the sounds and some of the structure. Way fun though!! And yes, Pimsleur seems to rock.

  3. ted said,

    November 30, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Are there no interesting words in Arizona?

    • thedialect said,

      November 30, 2009 at 11:50 pm

      Yes, I know I’ve been shirking my duties here at The Dialect. I am contemplating a switch to blogspot or some other site. I want to post pictures and find their set up much easier. Plus, I’m thinking about ‘going public’ with The Dialect but this would mean that I need to write a lot more and on a steady basis. I think this means that I need to shift to shorter, off the cuff, posts in order to have them on a regular basis. I’m having difficuly finding the time to sit down and write. I’m glad you’re checking the site and I apologize for letting you down. When I do do the going public launch, I’m going to send another big announcement. Thanks!

      • Brad B said,

        December 8, 2009 at 7:41 am

        So my blog is on blogspot and I like it. It’s easy to use and you can do most of what you can do on other blogs. I was told by a blogger friend that once a week is kind of your minimum requirement. Blogspot also let’s you set future dates for publishing your posts, so you can type up a few and have them publish automatically. I need to take advantage of this more often. And I also need to do the quick off-the-cuff posts for more entries. Basically I hope you continue this blog.


Leave a Reply

